One Word 2016: self-control

Have you joined in the new movement of not making New Year resolutions, but, instead picking one word that will be your guiding light?  I did this for the first time last year.  My word was Praise!  I made this wall hanging so I would look at it all year long.

Go to the My One Word website here

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERALast year’s post is here

On New Year’s Eve I took it down and was sad to say I don’t think I praised the Almighty enough in 2015.  However, my biggest praise  to God is that fact that when my Mother passed in July she went so peacefully and I know that I will see her again in heaven.

So, on to went to picking a new word.  I picked this hyphenated word this year for so many reasons. You, O Lord, You know in which areas of my life I need self-control.

f702be0c87ba6a712144e30556029873

More of you, less of me
Eat less
Exercise more
Control my anger
Stop anxiety and hand it over to you
Believe with less doubt
Seek you and not worldly things

These scriptures hit the mark with me:

Galatians 5:22-25But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.

Micah 6:8What does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Leave a Reply

