Mother’s Day at the Nursing Home

1ceb5604c2da0e15244fbc420f4b0e06

This has been a long week for me and my Mom.  She is no longer able to stand.  She must be lifted out of bed into the wheelchair with a Hoya lift.  Today as I visited her, I gave her a new bedspread for her bed, a handmade card, and some flowers from our church service, But, I didn’t know how to pray for her.

Our Pastor preached today on Romans 8:26-27.  From The Message:

If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God. That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.

How do I pray for this woman who can no longer stand?  How can I comfort her when she says “I can’t get up!”  “I know”, I say, and hold her hand.

I am so grateful to our Lord for knowing my heart.  And for giving me the peace to face another day with him at my side.  For altho I am an only child, with no family to stand with me at her side, I know He is always there for me.  It was part of my salvation 6 years ago.  That He would be there for me.  I read recently that only 4% of Christians find Jesus after the age of 30.  I’m proud to say that I am one of the 4%….I was 59 and it was the best thing I’ve ever done in my life.

We sang this at church today, too…”All is well with my soul”.  And mine is well.

Leave a Reply

