His Spirit will bubble forth

Last Thanksgiving my Mom was in the hospital for 7 days. The rest of the “holiday season” I was very depressed. I ran around making and delivering all kinds of gifts, but wasn’t feeling any joy from my giving. I even felt that God was mad at me and didn’t want me to have a joyous Christmastide. Of course, He wasn’t and doesn’t operate that way, it was just the way I was perceiving my situation.

This past summer our Pastor gave an outstanding sermon called “When God Feels Distant”. It gave me an arsenal of scripture to fall back on the next time I felt God was mad at me.

Here are some scriptures from my Pastor’s sermon you can look up:
Job 23:8-10 and 1:21
Isaiah 8:11-17
When David thought God was distant:
Psalm 22:1
Psalm 43:2
Psalm 10:1
I am happy to report that this Christmas I am in such a good mood that I am “bubbling”.  I know it is from God.

zz
I am taking delight in the smallest things: the gift I ordered from a catalog arrived quickly, the snow blower died and we were able to get a replacement the same day. Have you ever gone to a Yankee swap gift exchange? Well, you often don’t come away with what you started with, but I didn’t care what I got, and ended up with a pretty neat gift after all. I started two craft projects and each one ended in disaster, so I gladly threw it all away and moved on.

This year I am not running around pushing myself, several things have been cancelled due to snow storms and I found myself content in that, too.
Dear God,

Thank you for being in my life and the life of my Mom. It is so comforting to know that you are with us…..always. Whether she is in the hospital, or secure in her bed in the nursing home….you are with us.

I am very grateful for what you have taught me over this past year and I know I have a long way to go as a new Christian, but I’m in it for the long haul. You can count on me, Lord.

I pray that you bring the  joy and peace that I am feeling this holiday to others, family, friends, church family, and especially to the two people I chatted with while Christmas shopping, the woman who is raising her grandchildren alone and the doctor who has a special place in his heart for the veterans.

In closing, Father, thank you for giving me so much joy this year to “delight in you”.

In Jesus’ name I pray,
Amen

today

I am sharing this post on Thought-Provoking Thursday.

One thought on “His Spirit will bubble forth

Leave a Reply

