Touch the Elderly

When my Mom moved to a nursing home from an assisted living home, someone told me the staff was not allowed to lovingly touch or hug the residents. Praise the Lord, that was not true and the staff gives lots of hands on care.

Touch deprivation is common in the elderly. Unfortunately our society today does not treat kindly those who are elderly, whose skin in wrinkled and whose memories fade.

I have a small family and we are not huggers. But, since I’ve found a wonderful church family, I have learned the importance of hugging and it has carried over to my Mom and others in the nursing home.

An elderly couple live at Mom’s nursing home. They were members of my church. Yesterday they were in the hall, very confused. I asked if I could pray with them and they both grabbed onto me and I to them, and we prayed right there in the hall.

Wow, the touch of God. How powerful that is when we cling together in prayer. Mother Teresa said “Let us touch the dying, the poor, the lonely and the unwanted according to the graces we have received and let us not be ashamed or slow to do the humble work.”

mother teresa

The amazing bloggers over at Love God Greatly posted a Thanksgiving story about a senior in a nursing home who summed up the end of her long life this way:

“It’s not food that I crave…it’s people.”
http://www.lovegodgreatly.com/2014/11/world-messed-make-thanksgiving-count

Dear God, Thank you for reminding me today that touching the elderly is a valuable means of communicating. And when I forget this, reach down Your hand and help me in reaching out to others. Thank you that you have helped me place my Mom in a nursing home in a small town and with a loving staff. Thank you for giving me a caring church family who often visit Mom and make her life a little brighter, even if she can’t remember who they are, it is a cheerful face and a loving hand on her arm. How did I get so honored, Lord, to have you come into my life, just when I needed you? You have made my life more wonderful than I ever imaged it would ever be.

In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

I am sharing this post on Thought Provoking Thursday

and

Thriving Thursday.

Leave a Reply

