86th Birthday Prayer

My Mom’s birthday was yesterday. She turned 86. The older I get the younger that sounds. When one of the charge nurses asked her how old she would be she said 85. Not a bad guess considering she has lost all track of days, months and years. Dementia is an awful disease and there is no cure.

Since I am the only family member that visits her in the nursing home, we ate in her room. I brought a pizza, a gift, a card and party plates. We had birthday cake the day before at the “monthly birthday party” for all the residents.

“Honor thy father and mother,

so that it may go well with you

and that you may enjoy long life

on the earth”

Ephesians 6:2-3

Here is my prayer for my Mom on her 86th birthday:

Dear God,

I lift up my mother up to you, as she adds another year to her long life. Help me to listen to her and see her with a loving and caring heart. Give me the wisdom to be as patient with her as she was with me whe she and my father raised me, the only child they would ever have.

I know that she is confused, and can’t remember much, so guide me and give me wisdom when I visit with her.

Thank you for giving me the strength to carry on each day to be with her until you call her home to you. And do not let me be sad when she goes, as she will be waiting for me in heaven.

In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

I am sharing this post on Thought Provoking Thursday

Leave a Reply

